9 bike essentials

When I first got into road biking, I didn’t even know, how to change a tire. I remember, I was so scared damaging my back wheel if I’m taking it out of the frame that I avoided practising it. Therefore I also didn’t practice how to change a tire. Then, with my first flat,  I had to walk home the last 3Km of the ride despite I had all the tools with me. Lesson learned and now I’m ridiculously good at puncture repairs. My personal best is under two minutes 🙂
I think, every rider has to know this basics. How to change a chain, tires, indexing gears and trueing a wheel. And every rider has it’s own toolset for the job. This is mine:

  •  a blckburn minipump (60g)
  • a bit of isotape wrapped around it
  • spare tube
  • tire levers
  • money
  • park tool super patches + sandpaper
  • a plaster
  • little bit of salt
  • and a  86g Mount Zoom Multi Tool (review is coming soon)

All together my essentials weigh round about 250g.  I pack it in a small small plastic bag, which easily slides into the backpocket of my jersey. That comes in really handy for me, because I love, that I don’t have to use a saddlebag. And for commuting I just throw it in my backpack.

What are you’re essentials? Did I miss something?

10 responses to “9 bike essentials

  1. I carry a spare missing link for my chain (long story but highly recommended), latex gloves (so I don’t get my hands greasy working on my chain) and a spoke wrench… all in addition to what you have. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good list.. ive got a topeak multi tool which has everything in one easy package.. i read a great quote that says we carry our insecurities when riding.. not sure if thats true, I’m more inclined to subscribe to the boy scout be prepared mantra 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never used a missing link on the road, but they are handy (I just break and re-join the chain if it snaps). I also carry a couple of cable ties in with my repair kit, they can be very handy! I’m a fan of CO2 inflators for speedier changes. When it’s wet, cold or you’re in a group that’s waiting for you it’s a nice luxury to have!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I carry most of the same things but seldom have a spare tube. Sometimes, if I’m not riding very far, I don’t even carry the patch kit.

    One thing I’ve been carrying for a few years: an ID. It’s an expired license, with a piece of masking tape added that carries my current phone and address. I should add an “in case of emergency, call” name and number. Not expecting to get knocked unconscious out there, or even killed, but it could happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Minimal Costs for cycling – The Bike Escape·

Leave a Reply

