Overtraining?

Overtraining is this big word, which every athlete fears. Am I in it, am I on the way to it, does overtraining really exist?

Well, I have to admit: It does and I’m in it. I have a pain on the backside of my knee. Not enough, to take me out of sports, but sure enough, that I have to make a decision. I know, if I’m following my training plan right now and do those hard ftp-bike-intervall-sessions, my knee will give up. Which means, I’ll be out of sports for the rest of the year. Sadly I know that this pain comes from this hard intervalls. I tried to fiddle with saddle height, cleat position and float. At least I’m sure and can therefore make the right decision.

But I still have a race this season. Thoughts are naging me down, because my target was a clear “personal best” for this event. But honestly, it’s better to get to the startline injuryfree than not getting there at all.

So it’s time for me to do a little bit more swimming – which should be a better decision anyways in this hot summer days.

Do you have experienced knee pain in cycling and how do you deal with it?

13 responses to “Overtraining?

  1. I’m not a cyclist–I’ve always been a runner–but I completely understand overtraining! There was a point in my life where I was running nearly every day and attending fitness classes. It was waaaay too much. Then one day I was out for a six-miler in brand new running shoes and I felt something pull. But I ignored it. And finished the run and went to a plyo class the next day. I ended up with Achilles tendonitis and it benched me for two years! On the bright side, it taught me a lot about what it means to be an athlete and I discovered that I could also do other things. It also taught me to pay attention to my body and to stop when things hurt–pride be damned! Sometimes I can be overly cautious but better to walk a little than go back to the sidelines. So good call on the swimming! Enjoy and here’s to a speedy recovery!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If you’re doing high intensity intervals, you may be subtly altering your pedal stroke to power through the workout. Even a small change in your bio-mechanics could be causing your knee pain.

    Early this year I was experiencing some significant knee pain after a workout. I finally consulted with a professional who identified a ‘warp’ in my pedal stroke. Adjustments were made to the crank and my shoes. Knee pain gone.

    Good luck. Hope you find your solution.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had my cleats set up at the shop and since, I’ve never had so much as a twinge in my knees. My wife wasn’t so lucky. She’s been dealing with knee pain from the beginning… Till I moved the offending cleat up two millimeters (at her request)… one cleat is now 2 mm closer to her toes than the other. She’s been happy since.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I went for a bike fit after developing nasty pains in my left knee on a new bike. Hadn’t had it at all on my old bike. At fit discovered that I needed wedges in my left shoe, along with some minor saddle set back and stem adjustments. Have not had any knee pain since.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Like many have said, it sounds more like a fit issue and exercising through the pain.

    Overtraining takes many weeks to appear and is followed by many other symptoms which appear more like depression (bad sleep, chronic tiredness, etc). I would start at looking what caused the pain and try to alter the fit and muscle employment. For example, could it be that your tendons are overstretched and/or twisted when force is applied?

    Adjusting the fit and reducing the load when pain subsides and strengthening the problematic part of your body off the bike could be a rather quick remedy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: The extra to Cycling – The Bike Escape·

Leave a Reply

