Minimalism is a “decision-helper”

Because of my tendonitis, I’m out of cycling at the moment. And … it pisses me of. I need a minimum of endurance sport, to get my stresslevel down and to stay calm. But since my normal level is about ten hours a week, it’s hard to find a sport which equals in amount, but doesn’t use my feet to much.

At first I thought of kayaking. Which would be really nice, cause it engages the core, works my upper body, I can do it for hours and it only uses my feet to keep my body in place. Would be cool for my wife, cause I guess, that she loves biceps and sixpacks. 🙂

But guess what: It’s expensive, if you want to do it right. A one person kayak begins at 500€ and goes way up to 5.000€. Then I have the costs of weather gear and transport. Not to mention, that I’ll have to maintain this thing, almost like a bike. Which not only consumes my money, but also my time. Then it would take up too much room in my cellar and I could only use it during a certain period of time. I guess from April to September. And then – in the kayak off season – I would loose my hard earned biceps unless I buy a kayak-ergo for 2.500€.
You see, where this is going. Stay minimal. Maybe I go out in the next few weekends and rent one. Seems cheaper. Until then I stick with swimming 😉

Do you have any ideas for an endurance based core- or upper body workout?

14 responses to “Minimalism is a “decision-helper”

  1. Oh, I’d buy one without even thinking twice. Heck, I have four bikes and a tandem! They all have a purpose, by the way. The race bike, the rain road bike, the single track 29’er mountain bike and the muck mountain bike…

    Sure, I had to buy some accessories to get the bikes to where I want to go but that was all worth it. I can ride in almost any weather without wrecking the big investment bikes. Of course, a kayak is a little different, but cheaper than the bikes. Maybe going minimalist is opting for the cheaper model.

    If not, push ups.

    Like

  2. I totally agree that being a minimalist, your decisions get are chosen before you even know it. Or at least it makes you think long and hard about making purchases (before minimalism I was your typical impulse buyer). Good to see that you weighed your option and came to the conclusion (for now) that swimming is your best…and cheapest…option.

    As for endurance workout, I think swimming is your best option. Not sure what your injury will limit you to, but to keep up my stamina I do plyometrics. It also keeps you toned.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh goodness. I’ve been knocked out of running for about a year now with Insertional Achilles tendonitis. My bike had been for cross training days, but not running, it gave me the high and miles I needed running wasn’t giving me. Fast forward to 2 months ago when I got my first “real” professional bike. I’m finding out I’m pretty good at it and all my strength from running is having pay offs on bike. One thing I did buy ( and true not as cheap as swimming) but I got a rowing machine. I get on it and row 5 or 10K’s and I’m telling you, it was the closest thing I got to running in intensity and hard work. Rowing is a strong powerful activity. Soooo until my feet can go pounding the road again… my bike and rowing machine have been my deliverance. I totally understand the need for endurance activities. Boxing is also something else I find to be a nice challenge 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Do you have a local park with some exercise equipment? My nearby park has a ‘trim trail’, which includes monkey bars, balance beams etc. When I was injured and unable to run, I would go to the park and use the pieces of equipment that were suitable for me. (Some of them I used in different ways, so the low beam I used for tricep dips). It was free and outdoors, so much nicer than going to a gym 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dance is a really great workout that can teach you to reduce impact on certain joints with everyday body motion – If you haven’t taken classes before, you’ll be using lots of new muscles and practicing new ranges of motion that you wouldn’t otherwise. Different type of core strength and it’s a unique type of resistance training. Very low-clutter for beginners so great for minimalists!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I share your minimalism, I appreciate your study of kayaking. Kayaks are cheaper up-front here (I think), but space is at a premium in my place and I had not considered upkeep on a kayak. Thanks also for the reminder about swimming, which I need to learn.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I share your interest in minimalism, but as an athlete I find myself more motivated to go out and do something if I already have the equipment. Kayaking is an expensive option, but for something like tennis or biking it’s more cost-effective to own than rent. Just my $0.02!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

