5 Star Minimalism?

For almost a year, I call myself a minimalist. If you could see me now, this could sound a little bit strange, because I’m writing this lines at the pool of a five star wellness hotel. Not very minimalistic I hear you say, but that’s the point here. Most people do not know what minimalism really means.
The first mantra, that pops up when you google minimalism is: “Get rid of your stuff.” And – to be honest – I did get rid of most of my stuff and it helped me to become a minimalist. But what really counts is the reason behind this decision. I was not doing this for the sake of owning less, I was doing this to not be distracted by things which I don’t use or love. 

For example I used to have a lot of instruments. I had a guitar, a keyboard, a flute, a cajon and a loop pedal. At some point in my life, I learned to play all those instruments just a little bit. But I never enjoyed them so much, that I got good at playing them. So they just stood there in my appartement the last few years silently whispering: “Play me … you payed a lot of money for me, so play me!” This thought was nagging me down until I actively decided: “They don’t bring me joy, so I’m not willing to put any more effort into them – even if it’s just a thought.” Selled them, freed up time, freed up my mind and freed up space in my appartement. 

What happened then is, that I had more space, time and money for the things I loved. That’s the reason why I’m sitting on the pool of a five star wellness hotel. Because as a minimalist I’m putting my time, money and efforts only on the things I love. And I love a good holiday 😉

Why would you become a minimalist?

16 responses to “5 Star Minimalism?

  1. I must admit I almost stopped reading after two lines as my skin colour turned rapidly green. Jealousy aside, my wife would love the idea of me getting rid of my guitar, particularly if it led to the above scene. So yes, I would become a minimalist on the instructions of the Mrs. Enjoy your break Stefan 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Here’s the deal… No, I wouldn’t become a minimalist any more than I’d become a Democrat or a vegetarian, but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t choose to live that way. Those labels often come with a certain group think that I won’t be a party to.

    Also, I won’t be subjected to whimsical ideas of selling off stuff that will come in handy, I’m just not there right now. My golf clubs are a perfect example. I only play once of twice a year but I still have a fantastic set of clubs. I’m just not in a place emotionally (I went golfing with my dad before Alzheimers took him) where I want to play. I still have a great swing and good mechanics and I love the game… I just don’t want to play right now.

    I simply don’t have the same hangup a with stuff that you do…. and I have a big garage.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for sharing! I agree, what important is the reason behind why my family want to pursue minimalism. For us it is more time spent with kids and friends exploring outdoors. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. You made me see minimalism as one way to re-evaluate one’s priorities – how to expend our energy, where to spend our time, who to focus on, so distractions don’t derail our efforts. Not sure with method would work best for me.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I will be honest here. My main motivation for becoming a minimalist was to save money to pay off my mortgage faster. I want to be financially independent sooner rather than later. BUT I’ve learned that minimalism has so many other benefits! By simplifying, life has opened up in ways I never thought of. For example: now that I’ve cancelled my cable subscription I have time to enrich my life in other ways – like blogging (lol), exercising, learning, etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am not a minimalist by all mean. Tho, I like the idea. Sometimes, I feel like there are too many stuff in my room, letters, cloths, books. It is actually not a easy thing to do in my opinion, especially in USA or countries that make up of big houses and apartments. I am not saying that it is impossible to become a minimalist when living in a big house. However, I have to say that as the life quality increases, the desire of ownership increases. I used to live at a small city, where most of the people are living in an apartment. Only the richest people live on the mountain and live in the houses. even for middle-upper classes people, they are only living in apartment that is bigger than the average, around 1k square feet. 500square feet is the average size of general citizen housing. Now, I am living in a big house. My mindset changes from “I don’t have space for it” to “why not? I have space.” Eventually, stuffs pile up. I guess there is a transition of becoming a minimalist, that from nothing to exceeding amount of objects to the minimal.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Stefan,
    I love that you mentioned that minimalism is the reason behind the decision. I think many people think they can’t be minimalist because they think they have to get rid of everything! I actually forgot that I had a keyboard waiting for me under my bed. I keep telling myself that it is something that I want to revisit and teach myself, but I haven’t made that time. It’s hard to get rid of it, but I’m going to take serious consideration that this keyboard doesn’t bring me joy, and that it may be time to part ways with it.

    Natalie | Holistic Health, Lifestyle, & Travel
    http://nataliesalchemy.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

